National Standards for Disability
Services (NSDS)

Home » About us » About disability » National Standards for Disability Services (NSDS)

In 2014, the Australian Government adopted the National Standards for Disability Services (NSDS), after the standards were endorsed by a meeting of the Standing Council on Disability Reform ministers from all jurisdictions.

There are six National Standards that apply to disability service providers in Australia:

  • Rights. 
    The service promotes individual rights to freedom of expression, self-determination and decision-making, and actively prevents abuse, harm, neglect and violence.
  • Participation and Inclusion. 
    The service works with individuals and their families, friends and carers to promote opportunities for meaningful participation and active inclusion in society.
  • Individual Outcomes. 
    Services and supports are assessed, planned, delivered and reviewed to build on individual strengths and enable individuals to reach their goals.
  • Feedback and Complaints. 
    Regular feedback is sought and used to inform individual and organisation-wide service reviews and improvement.
  • Service Access. 
    The service manages access, commencement and leaving a service in a transparent, fair, equal and responsive way.
  • Service Management. 
    The service has effective and accountable service management and leadership to maximise outcomes for individuals.

Click to access more information on the National Standards, including Easy English Guides and versions of the Standards in languages other than English.

Ends | Contact us