Our Staff

Co-Chief Executive Officers

Matthew Bowden

Matthew is an experienced and passionate advocate dedicated to human rights and advocacy for people with disability.

Follow Matthew on Twitter

Therese Sands

Therese Sands has worked for 25 years in education, policy development, capacity building and advocacy in the area of disability and human rights.

Therese’s passion for human rights began at the Australian Human Rights Commission where she worked on the awareness campaign for the introduction of the Disability Discrimination Act 1992 (Cth). Through her work, she has gained extensive theoretical and practical experience of United Nations (UN) human rights mechanisms, and how to use UN mechanisms to further domestic advocacy for the rights of people with disability.

Therese has a Master of Human Rights Law and Policy, and won the University of NSW Law School Public Defender’s Prize in 2012. She is a Life Member of People with Disability Australia (PWDA) and a member of Women With Disabilities Australia (WWDA).

Follow Therese on Twitter

Systemic Advocacy, Research and Training

  • Romola Hollywood – Director Policy and Advocacy
  • Samantha French – Senior Policy Officer,  Employment and Accessibility. Follow on Twitter
  • Dean Price – Senior Policy Officer, Housing and Social Security.  Follow on Twitter
  • Dr Meg Clement-Couzner – Senior Policy Officer, Violence Prevention. Follow on Twitter
  • Alex Ford – Senior Policy Officer, NDIS
  • Francis Quan Farrant – Senior Research Policy Officer. Follow on Twitter
  • Mel Harrison – Training Manager. Follow on Twitter Follow on Twitter
  • Polly Seymour – Project Officer: Violence Prevention
  • Freya Higgins – Project Officer: Violence Prevention

Individual Advocacy

  • Stephen Kilkeary – Manager, Individual Advocacy
  • Tracey Moffatt – Advocacy Manager and NDIS Appeals, Qld
  • Jen Ruse – Advocacy Manager and NDIS Appeals, NSW
  • Tanya Jovovic – Disability Rights Information Officer
  • Garry Oates – Disability Rights Information Officer
  • David Skidmore – Disability Rights Information Coordinator
  • Gareth Elliott – Advocate, NSW
  • Luke Gale – Advocate, QLD
  • Stephin Hargreave – Advocate, NSW
  • Leonie Hazelton – Advocate, NSW
  • Lizzie Blue – Advocate, NSW
  • Denise Robertson – Advocate, QLD
  • Natalie Ross – Advocate, NSW
  • Grace Stevenson – Advocate, QLD
  • Mina Hunt – Advocate, QLD
  • Ilona Wildauer – Advocate, QLD
  • Kien Tang – Advocate, NSW
  • Matthew Langman – Advocate, NSW
  • Robin Turnham – Advocate, NSW
  • Jessica Bell – Advocate, NSW
  • Ted Jensen – Advocate QLD
  • Dorothy Catts – Advocate NSW

Corporate Services, Communications, Projects and Finance

  • Maja Bulut – Business Operations Manager
  • El Gibbs – Media and Campaigns Manager
  • Kate Finch – Director, Strategic Projects & Organisational Development
  • Andrew Emmerson – Finance & IT Support Officer
  • Pete Darby – Corporate Governance Officer
  • Sue Strasser – Reception & Administration Officer
  • Ben Crompton – Communications Coordinator
  • Andrew Stensel – Enable In Manager
  • Alicia Bairle – Wayfinder Hub Manager